top of page

Blog

Watched: BFG


I know, I know super late right? Well if you are like me, you love watching movies, but you don't feel a need to rush to every single movie that comes to theaters. I DO however keep a running list in my head of movies I might be interested in. For me, BFG was one of those.

BFG is a Disney film (I love those!) about a young orphan girl who meets BFG, or Big Friendly Giant, and they go on a marvelous adventure together. Directed by Steven Spielberg, the film is based off of Roald Dahl's classic children's book. I have this funny habit of doing all kinds of googling when I'm watching a movie - about the plot, the actors I think I recognize, or even history. In my search, I found that Roald Dahl is the creator of the novel Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, and Matilda, among others. I had no idea he was connected to all those classic stories, or even who he was! BFG was, in my opinion, delightful.

This imaginative film tells the tale of Sophie, a know-it-all orphan girl in London, who is captured by BFG (a name she aptly came up with for the giant). In the midst of unexpected friendship, the two are launched on an enormous adventure when they must capture the evil, man-eating giants who have been invading the human world. As per my research, BFG minimizes the "darker elements" of Roald Dahl's classic in order to make it family-friendly.

I know many people like to look at reviews before they see movie, visit a store, or eat their food, but I like to live life on the edge and just watch something for fun.

But I did find out after the fact that BFG got a 75% from Rotten Tomatoes, which isn't too shabby. I suspect this may be due to the lack of known actors in the film, seeing as how I didn't see a face I recognized in all my googling. Steven Spielberg typically goes for well known actors, but it would appear that this time he chose to go in another direction. BFG was played by Mark Rylance, an Oscar-winner known for his stage work, but that was bout it... For me, this tends to be a bit of a turn off when selecting other movies.

I am not sure why this ADORABLE video was created, but I came across it and thought someone else might be equally as amused! How to Make a Giant's Meal: http://video.disney.com/watch/a-bfg-breakfast-dishes-by-disney-536ed9b6561c04c041ac549d

Did you see BFG? What are your thoughts on this classic retelling of a children's story?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page