top of page

Blog

Product Review + Living With Acne

My tormented past with acne is long and torrid. I have had acne since I was about 13. And I still have problems with acne to this day (I am now 29). I have been ALL OVER searching for answers....

When I first started to see a problem, we went to the dermatologist, and she started out with some chemical face peels. Those kind of hurt since I have sensitive skin, and they didn't seem to do much. Then she put me on Proactiv, which mostly burned, but it worked a little better. However, it did not totally fix the problem. So we worked on my personal behaviors. I stopped eating chocolate and drinking caffeine for about 6 months - nothing. I started washing off my makeup before I worked out in gym class - nothing. I couldn't seem to push it back enough to see a breakthrough. I mostly gave up after high school, resorting to more and more makeup, trying to cover up the fact that I was an adult with acne.

About 6 months after graduating college, I was at Macy's getting my usual makeup. I was explaining to the man behind the counter my woes, and he asked the most important question of all: do you wash your face two times a day and what do you wash it with? This may seem like a fairly normal question to most, but as I had previously given up on my acne, I wasn't following the rules. Sure I was washing my face in the shower and daily (mostly) pulling off my makeup. But I was surprised to find out that it needed to be done twice daily, and with something more abrasive than just my hands, (which is what I was using). He also suggested (for the 2nd time in my life) to start washing off my makeup prior to working out so the sweat wouldn't mess things up. So I did. And I DID start to see a light at the end of the tunnel! But I was still unhappy with my overall appearance.

Then, last Thanksgiving I decided to give myself the royal treatment - nails done, haircut, new outfit, etc., and decided to spend a little on my face... because why the hell not? So I bought the off-brand of Proactiv at Target (yes it really is the EXACT same thing - not that it matters because the main ingredient is what is important). And I'm telling you folks - I really see a difference! Now, I still struggle with washing my makeup off on the weekends (because it's so much work - am I right?), but I am starting to feel like I might be able to beat it after all!

I have also starting eating healthier to support this change, and I am almost positive that it is making a difference - seeing as how you literally are what you eat.

(If you click on the picture, it will take you right to the product at Target; with whom I am not an affiliate, just a happy customer!)

So there you have it! My product review of Target's Acne Care System. Do you struggle with adult acne? Have you tried this product or a similar one? I would LOVE to know in the comments what has/has not worked for you all!

*Disclaimer: I sincerely apologize that I do not have any pictures to show you. I have zero before pictures of the process growing up as I refused to let anyone see it.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page