top of page

Blog

New to Wine? I am!

So I'm not sure about you, but college changed my opinions about my drink preferences. First, I started out like most college students who just turned 21 - mixed drinks and shots. Then I met my boyfriend and his beer pong playing friends and it was all downhill from there! I've been drinking beer ever since...

As I near the ripe 'ol age of 30, I am searching for a drink that feels a bit more - er classy? I'm tired of going to restaurants or fancier bars and ordering cheap beers. I am ready to get involved in the world of wine! The problem is, I don't seem to enjoy wine. I've been to three wine tastings where different kinds of wines were showcased and I have YET to find something I actually want to drink again. I've tried red wines and white wines and everything in between, but I haven't found MY wine.

Until now! I went to a friends house last week and tried her homemade Sangria and it was delicious! I honestly couldn't stop thinking about it, so the next time I went to the store I did a double take when I saw this: Yellow Tail Sangria.

Now I knew when I saw the bottle that it obviously wasn't actually the kind of Sangria you make with tea, seeing as how it comes in a wine bottle. But I thought I ought to give it a try and branch out to something new. And it was so DELICIOUS!

The Yellow Tail website describes the wine as: "inspired by the traditional drink of Spain, Sangria combines premium red wine with a splash of sweet citrus for a party-starter in a bottle." The flavors are lemon, lime, and orange. They even suggest enjoying it in a jug with ice, topped with diced lemon and orange. I literally drank it out of the bottle (into a wine glass of course- I'm not THAT bad!), and I thought it was delicious without any prep work.

It was sweet enough to hook me (I tend to like sweeter wine), but not so sweet my boyfriend gets a headache afterwards! And it was a red wine, but it was much fruitier than most reds. I want to bring this to every dinner party and gathering I go to – I finally found my classy drink!

Are you new to wine? Have any suggestions for someone who can't seem to find something they like? Comment below!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page